Skip to main content

Site of Cold War Nuclear Monitoring Post, Walton-on-the-Naze (EHER 46674)

Please read our .

Summary

A Cold War Nuclear monitoring post. The site was located on the west side of Southcliff (cliff-top path), 30 metres north east of its junction with Southview Drive. At the time of the Defence of Britain survey (1995-2002) the site was found to have been destroyed. The site was opened during August 1962 and closed in October 1968.

Map

Location

Grid reference TM 2510 2120 (point)
Civil Parish FRINTON AND WALTON, TENDRING, ESSEX

Type and Period

Description

Original HER entry merged with NRHE data import. A Royal Observer Corps monitoring post. The site was located on the west side of Southcliff (cliff-top path), 30 metres north east of its junction with Southview Drive. The site was opened during August 1962 and closed in October 1968. <1> <2> Site visit for the Defence of Britian survey At the time of the Defence of Britain survey (1995-2002) the site was found to have been destroyed with no trace remaining. <3> <4> <5> Additional reference <6>

Sources

  • <1> Monograph: Dobinson, C. S.. 2000. Twentieth Century Fortifications in England, Vol XI: The Cold War. Vol XI-2 list, pp 214-219.
  • <2> Bibliographic reference: Catford, N.. 1999. Ravelin Special No 8 - The Royal Observer Corps Underground in Kent and Essex.
  • <3> LIST: Catford, N.. 1998. Royal Observer Corps underground posts in Essex.
  • <4> Webpage: Clarke, J.. 1996-2003. Defence of Britain Database.
  • <5> Webpage: 2007. Subterranea Britannica, 1998-2007.
  • <6> Collection: Various. Various. Historic England Archive. DEB01.

Other References

  • NRHE identifier: 1412565
  • National Monuments Record: TM 22 SE 43

Comments

Do you have any questions or more information about this record? Please feel free to comment below with your name and email address. All comments are submitted to the website maintainers for moderation, and we aim to respond as soon as possible. Comments, questions and answers that may be helpful to other users will be retained and displayed along with the name you supply. The email address you supply will never be displayed or shared.

Comments